My First Horror Film

A lot of exciting things have happened since I last posted. I want to apologise for the lack of updates, a lot has happened and I have been lucky enough to be busy. I will catch up with my blogging and tell you all about it.

It is not a lesbian horror film, promise.

The first exciting piece of news is that I not only did my first horror film, Soul Divided, but I was also the lead. In every scene apart from two. I have been the lead before and it is always exciting. It was an honour but it was also exhausting. To play the lead in a film is an amazing thing. You really get stuck into the character and you get to shape the film. I play Marina who, in the words of the Die Hard movies, is about to have a very bad day.

Catherine Balavage Horror actress

I have to admit that I don’t watch a lot of horror films but they are fun to make. I have been covered in blood, ran through woods while being chased by demons and stabbed someone.

The film was made by BHM Films who made the cult urban drama ‘Circle of Revenge’. I was directed by J. Valentine and was only cast after a four hour audition in which I had to go mad, cry and then kill myself in the space of five minutes. It was certainly an experience.

The film was produced by Darren Baba who is the incredible guy who cast me in Downton Abbey. (see, it is all about making connections) Darren, Valentine and DOP Derrion Adams are incredibly talented. I really enjoyed working with them and hope to do so again. I will keep you informed on the progress of the film. The team are very talented and I think it will be amazing.

~ by balavage on May 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
